My New Year’s

This new year’s I’m committing to more connection with friends, more self-care and less running around. I know we’re all busy with family, work and all sorts of commitments. But it gets to be too much, and we move from one thing to the next so fast now. There’s no reflection. I know I need that. And to just exhale.

For myself, I’m swimming which I love. I’ll apply for at least 3 writers’ residencies and see how I do. And I’ve got to send my story around before March 31.

For myself, I’m swimming which I love. I’ll apply for at least 3 writers’ residencies and see how I do. And I’ve got to send my story around before March 31.

I’ve invited a few cool women to a monthly women’s group so we’ll see how that goes. I also need to READ more. I’ve been pretty lazy in the department.

My goals for Jack are around his reading, social life and sports. I’ve ramped up his reading time and it’s starting to show – it’s really coming along. I’d love him to be reading Harry Potter in a year. It’s definitely a stretch goal!

We’ve kept up his Special Olympics sports since summer when golf started – golf was a surprise winner, and my friend just gave us some hand-me-down clubs. It’s a small gesture but I need to let the good things just build and expand like that. As far as the sports, I’m keeping an open mind and seeing what fits well for him. He’s done basketball with S.O. but it was mostly adults, so that wasn’t perfect. His swimming starts next week and I’ll report on his progress here. I know there are more kids in swimming. He’s taken 1:1 lessons for most of his life but it’s still hard to put it all together for crawl stroke. His S.O. team will practice in the deep end so he’ll have to break his habit of kicking off the floor of the shallow end. It’s probably just what he needs, and I’ll be in there to spot him.

So, into the new year, bravely. Slowing down, though, is a priority. I think I’ve already proven I’m capable of doing a lot. This year is about doing less, and doing the things that matter most. Ready, steady: Go!

7 thoughts on “My New Year’s

Leave a Reply

